Making teaching and learning environmentally friendly

Over the past years I have been quite interested and intrigued about the technological advances in space exploration. My keen interest started when I watched a television programme by Dr Michio Kaku, the theoretical physicists and co-founder of string field theory, on parallel universe. Last Saturday, I decided to take my children to the National Space Centre in Leicester to round off the half-term. Whilst there, my attention was drawn by one of my children to a notice that said “In the next fifty years we would be living in space”. My son asked if this is true, and if so what will happen to this beautiful world. I responded by saying, well I don’t know? No, wait a minute, maybe I do; would environmental pollution have rendered the earth uninhabitable? 

Sadly, sources of environmental pollution have been traced to Higher Education, around energy use connected with heating and lighting for large lecture halls, carbon emission associated with ICT, waste production including paper and equipment disposal and physical infrastructure using materials which are not environmentally friendly.

Can we as academics create learning futures whose values, principles and practices lead to sustainable development in all aspects of education? The time to act is now!

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

