PLE or VLE?

Inspired by Scott Leslie’s PLE Diagrams wiki, I just had a bash at illustrating my own PLE, organised according to the things I want to do in it:

My personal learning environment (Click on the image for better resolution.)

My personal learning environment (Click on the image for better resolution.)

Then I asked myself:

How many of the functions listed in red, that I currently carry out using the Web 2.0 tools noted in green, could I carry out as effectively in a VLE using the VLE tools? (I was thinking particularly of the virtual learning environment used at our institution – Blackboard 7.)

The answer? Strictly speaking, none – although with a more generous definition of “effectively”, the networking and sharing ones might be addressed. That’s two out of 14, at a stretch.

PLE or VLE? No contest.

Gabi Witthaus

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. thank you very much for this great overview and analysis.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

