Confessions of a PhD Student (1): “I am guilty of procrastinating”

Ok. I confess. About a year ago, when I started my PhD, I began playing Bejeweled Blitz on Facebook. I’ve just reached level 55. That implies over 3,500 one-minute long games. That is about 59 hours. It is true. I am not exaggerating. I just checked my statistics and did the math. And that’s only one of the games I play. I am guilty of procrastinating.

Bejeweled Blitz

I know I do it. But it is so hard to not do it!! I don’t have any courses. I control my own progress. I set up my own deadlines. It is so easy to argue with myself…

– Hey, what if I play for a bit and then I work?

– But we have to finish this today.

– You know it doesn’t really matter. We can finish it tomorrow, and it’s all the same.

– Yeah, you’re right. Ok… Just one more game…

I’ve tried dealing with this in two main ways. Firstly, every once in a while I get in a deep state of concentration. I read, analyze, write, argue, create… I become fast, efficient. I try to make the most out of these periods. All work, no procrastination. Secondly, I’ve asked my supervisor to establish official deadlines for me. Having the commitment to hand in a product on a specific day helps me focus on the task. It destroys the “it doesn’t really matter” argument.

On the other hand, playing silly games can also be a way of getting ready to work. It helps my mind organize its ideas. I feel more relaxed afterwards. Maybe procrastinating is not so bad after all… Or maybe that’s just my guilty side talking, trying to claim a reduced sentence…

– Brenda Padilla

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. olimpicgod

     /  March 28, 2011

    Usa los juegos como recompensa por haber terminado un trabajo importante o al final del dia cuando ya realizaste todo tu trabajo. Nunca jueges en horario de oficina o de estudio! El unico problema es si el juego compite con tus obligaciones!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

